Zagreb, Croatia’s northwestern capital, is distinguished by its 18th- and 19th-century Austro-Hungarian architecture. At its center, Upper Town is the site of the Gothic, twin-spired Zagreb Cathedral and 13th-century St. Mark’s Church, with a colorfully tiled roof. Nearby is pedestrian-friendly Tkalčićeva Street, lined with outdoor cafes. Lower Town has the main square, Ban Jelačić, plus shops, museums and parks.

Written documents first mention Zagreb in 1094, with founding of the Diocese.

In 1242, Zagreb (then Gradec) was proclaimed a Free Town of the Kingdom by the Golden Bull of Croatian-Hungarian King Bela IV.
In 1557, Zagreb was for the first time mentioned as the capital.
In 1669, Jesuits found first Academy. The year is taken as the year of establishment of the University of Zagreb.
In 1776, Croatian Government moves from Varaždin to Zagreb.
On June 25, 1991, Croatian Parliament proclaims independence and sovereignty of the Republic of Croatia. Zagreb becomes the capital.

Zagreb is a vibrant city of around 800,000 people (metropolitan area: 1,200,000). The city boasts a charming medieval 'old city' with architecture and cobbled streets reminiscent of ViennaBudapestPrague and other Central-European capitals. In 2011 it was visited by over 700,000 tourists, mainly from AustriaGermany and Italy. Enjoy the free WiFi available at the main square and around the national theater all the way to the main train station.